What’s Coming


I had hoped that I’d be finished with my next posting by now. Since I’m not, I thought I’d give a quick preview. It’s about a very unwelcome topic: gun legislation – specifically legislation that I think would be effective while trying not to be overly intrusive, unlike some recent legislative attempts which are neither.

The article includes the pertinent resources and research that I did in coming up with the information I present. It compares firearm deaths world-wide, their causes, what is unique and what is comparable to the situation in the U.S., and over a year’s worth of data for every reported case on who was killed, where it happened, and further details, so that if you’re inclined to pick me apart, you too can go through the data.

I have condensed and summarized information from articles that I had promised and started over a year ago but never finished. The topics have been reorganized and structured in a way that I hope is more helpful than before.

Although many people are thoroughly uncomfortable even talking about guns, if you have kids or grandchildren, this is a topic you need to understand whether or not you have a gun yourself. The must-read portion will be under the heading “Proposed Gun Legislation”. Although you may miss why I recommend what I do, at least you’ll know what I am proposing.

The last part of the article is aimed at education about guns and ammunition that seem to be either unknown or confused by most media sources. If this is a non-issue for you, skip it.

The last point I’d like to make is that although I have little expertise with guns, I know what sounds questionable when I hear it, and I look it up – something that seems to be increasingly uncommon. I have accumulated a lot that way – enough to feel comfortable in writing my article.

 

4 responses to “What’s Coming

  1. The infrequent site title gets you a pass on not keeping to a regular schedule I guess 😉

  2. Sorry about the irregularity. I really do get overwhelmed with more mundane chores. If I had the opportunity, I’d be here every day. On top of that, my next post is incredibly long, and I’ve decided to break it down into parts once I’m finished.

  3. The gun issue is something that’s been stewing in my mind for a while now–I look forward to your take on it. Perhaps you’ll help me form mine.

  4. It looks like it happened again. Your comment arrived the day I left town, and I’m just now getting back to all my missed mail. Thanks for the comment. It should spur me on. It’s so easy to get side-tracked.

Leave a Reply

